Dogtown & Z Boys

OG Soundtrack

Regular price $99.00

Dogtown & Z-Boys OG Soundtrack (2001)

In mid-70s America, skateboarding was a fad in danger of dying out, until a small group of surfers in Santa Monica began moving to extremes in both lifestyle and techniques, using their skills in empty swimming pools and the streets to create a new form of skateboarding. Director Stacy Peralta, who was one of the group, weaves home footage of their early days with interviews with those still in the scene.

The soundtrack was part of an early joint-venture with Everloving (fka Enjoy) and Republic/Universal Records.  It was nominated for a Grammy for Best Soundtrack Albums but was later unceremoniously deleted when Universal released the fictional Lords of Dogtown with a new soundtrack album.

Containing photos by Glen E Friedman and CR Stecyk that were not part of the documentary but nonetheless necessary to properly present this crucial story as well as a special logo from the minds of Everloving and the graphic design of a young Shepard Fairey.

1 Ezy Ryder Jimi Hendrix
2 Motor City Madhouse Ted Nugent
3 Funk #49 The James Gang
4 Generation Landslide Alice Cooper
5 Children Of The Revolution T. Rex
6 Gimme Danger The Stooges
7 Bad Reputation Thin Lizzy
8 Rocky Mountain Way Joe Walsh
9 LA Grange ZZ Top
10 Maggie May Rod Stewart